Skip to content


Welcome to the Conservation Decisions team website.

The Conservation Decisions team (CSIRO Land and Water) is a multi-disciplinary group with expertise in ecological modelling, systematic conservation planning, ecosystem services, applied mathematics, artificial intelligence, and decision theory. We are members of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Environmental Decisions and the CompSustNet research network sponsored by the National Science Foundation.

We’re pioneering techniques in optimal resource allocation, cost-effectiveness analysis, expert elicitation, value of information, spatial prioritisation, multi-objective optimisation and adaptive management. We apply our expertise to diverse problems to inform the recovery of endangered species, management of pests, invasive species and diseases, design of conservation reserves, medical decision making, freshwater resource management and the prioritization of threat management to conserve biodiversity in a rapidly changing world.

Our motivation is to solve pressing global decision problems. We do this by connecting big and small data with decision science to determine what actions to take, when and where to get the best outcomes for our bucks, while taking into account the many other competing needs of society.

We’re led by Dr Iadine Chades, Principal Research Scientist at CSIRO Land and Water.

Research scientists:
Josie Carwardine, Iadine Chadès, Cameron Fletcher, Sam Nicol, Rocio Ponce-Reyes

Postdoctoral fellow:
Jonathan Ferrer Mestres, Chris Baker (UQ/CSIRO)

PhD and undergraduate students:
Stephen Kearney (UQ/CSIRO), Juan Mula Laguna (JCU/CSIRO), Hui Xiao (UQ/CSIRO/INRA), Luz Valerie Pascal (ENSTA, France), Kamal Quazbary (SupAero, France).

Visiting scientists:
Eve McDonald-MaddenChrystal Mantyka-PringleJennifer Firn

Previous team members/visitors:
Jamine Lee (PhD UQ/Antarctic Division/CSIRO), John Dwyer (UQ/CSIRO), Martin Peron (PhD QUT/CSIRO), Yann Dujardin (Postdoc), Ramona Maggini, Jean-Baptiste Pichancourt, Arthur Le Rhun, Belinda Walters, Yvonne Buckley, Tara Martin, Jonathan Rhodes, Richard Schuster, Tyler Flockhart, Richard Fuller, Nick Murray, RATNAMOGAN Pirashanth (ENSTA), Benjamin Rumeau (ENSTA), Simon Horb (ENSTA), Marc-Antoine Coindreau (ENSTA), Laszlo Jalladeau (ENSTA), Reuben Ross (QUT), Alexandre Garcin (SupAero).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: